#PalmsUp

8 Aug

How many times have I been missing out on the plans God had for me because they didn’t look like the ones in my head?

Wow!  I have started a new online bible study, What Happens When Women Say Yes to God,  and cannot believe what I am learning about myself.  Are we really giving control of our life to God?  I am figuring out that I think I am saying “Yes,” but it turns out that I may really be saying “That is great as long as it fits with what I have in mind. ”

What Happens When Women Say Yes to God

I set out on this journey thinking that this should be no problem for me at all.  I have been going to church, reading my bible, and talking with God almost all my life.  The first chapter of my book was about keeping my palms up and giving in to God’s control of my life.  I’ve got this, no problem.  Right?

Well, I soon noticed I was having trouble relaxing and resting.  It was because I was so busy thinking of what my life would look like when I gave up control.  I imagined all the great possibilities He has in store for me, and how I would respond when they happened.  Then I would think, well, what if He has “this” in store for me instead of “that.”  Then I would start trying to imagine how I would respond to the new scenario.  Before I knew it, I was kinda stressing out imagining how I would give up control to God!  How absurd is that??  I finally realized that this is EXACTLY what NOT giving up control to God looks like.

Why can’t I just sit back and let God have the reins?  I think, for me, that it throws me into a place where I have to admit I don’t have all the answers and I am not perfect.  I mean, I know I am not perfect, but to let the world see that?  Aren’t we as wives, mothers, women in general, supposed to have it all together?  That is why I love the part in the book that says, “You are a woman perfectly equipped to say yes to Him.  Notice that I did not say you are a perfect woman.  But if you are in the thick of living with all that life throws at you and you simply whisper yes, you are equipped.”  Awesome!

Another quote I am loving from the first chapter is “Whatever God says do, do it!”  It does not say do only the things that you agree with; it says Whatever.  Huh…  Is anyone out there as off base as I have been on this one?  Boy, I guess I have lots more to learn, but I am ready to put my palms up to God and take one step at a time, following where God leads me.

5 Responses to “#PalmsUp”

  1. Lean Not Unto My Own Understanding August 8, 2013 at 7:10 am #

    Yes, I too struggle with thinking I should have it all together. For many years, I was in a mode that I had to be perfect in order to be good enough. It wasn’t until many painful years had passed, when a dear friend said to me, “Brenda, it’s ok if you make a mistake or mess up. Life will still be alright and good.” Wow, what a wake up call and to know God blessed him to be able to share this with me.

    Yes, this is a journey that I have yet to fully understand and I am so thankful to have this online study to allow me to know I have so much more to go.

    Blessing to you.

  2. prince26155 August 8, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    No, PalmsUp, you are not alone. I know that I’ve often tried to get God to do things my way or in my time, God never gives in to me. God is God and I am not. I am just an imperfect women He desires to use. I’m putting #PalmsUp and saying “Whatever” too!
    Praying God blesses your “Yes”,
    Barbara P. OBS Small Group Leader/Prayer Warrior Team

    • maccc5 August 8, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

      Thanks! It is great to know I am not going on this journey alone. 🙂

  3. realbaconlover August 8, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    This was great to read, it is always nice to know that you are not alone struggling with things. God placed something on my heart many years ago, the last 10 I start it… then stop because of fear of failure and fear that it won’t turn out the way I want. This week has had a profound affect on me too. I am saying YES no matter what it looks like.

    • Amy W. August 8, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

      Oh, I understand how scary this can be. We do not know what the future looks like, but I am praying blessings on you as you step boldly out and overcome the fears!

Leave a Reply

